The Inner Meanings of Planets in Astrology

In both western and eastern cultural traditions astrology has played a major part in prophecies for both global and personal issues. We might have known some people who rarely make any decisions until they consult an astrologer first. At the same time there are those who could not care less because they believe in their own power and choices over and above planetary forecasts.

The conflict between believers and skeptics can be resolved when we consider that everything we see around us is merely a part of nature that can mean something to our psyche if we try to meditate and discover its relevance to us. In other words everything outside is best used to help us learn something about who we are and what our potential is. From our earthly perspective we can understand planets to signify certain powers that we contain within us. In the patterns of the movements of planets we can simply see lessons and meanings that can guide us to have a better life. At the same time we are not limited by these patterns but can exercise our free will with increasing power as we awaken more and more, regardless of what is outside.


Sun: Ancients believed it to be a planet or celestial body that is luminous and crucial to our life on earth as it is a giver or generator of energy that determines our cycles of nature and time. Its spiritual or esoteric meanings include Power, Leadership, Inner Light, Effective Personality, Success and Charisma as qualities and traits that we can develop through our efforts and self-confidence. An excess of ego, self-centredness and power trips can be kept in check at the same time.

Gods such as Bel, Surya, Aditya, Apollo, Helios, Ra and goddesses such as Savitri, Gayatri and Sekhmet were connected with solar qualities for contemplation and energisation of our aura.

Bright yellow to red colours and natural gemstones or crystals such as Sunstone, Ruby, Citrine and Goldstone can help us focus on solar traits and our Solar Plexus Chakra.


Moon: Also called a planet in ancient times, the moon being a satellite of earth that reflects the Sun’s light at night helps us see in the dark. Its esoteric significance is that of Revelation, Prophecy, Self-reflection, Introspection, Inner Psyche, Hidden Emotions, Intuition, Peace and Calmness. Look out for the shadow side of fear, illusion and false allure and focus on your positive and divine qualities instead.

Goddesses such as Luna, Selene, Isis, Hecate, Diana and Gods such as Somadev and Sin have signified our feminine and receptive powers of patience, creativity, stillness and inner change of Lunar nature.

Colours of white and silver as well as gemstones such as Pearl, Moonstone, Opal, Selenite and Mother of Pearl can represent our feminine creative powers associated with our Sacral Chakra.


Mercury: The nearest planet to the Sun in our solar system is speedy and small indicating traits of attention to detail, mind power, quick responses, thinking on your toes, clever communication, technology, information, science and efficient financial management.

Gods such as Hermes, Buddha, Thoth and goddesses such as Minerva, Athena and Srividya are symbolic of the powers of our mind to help us learn, strategize and communicate better. At the same time restlessness and hyperactivity can be transformed through meditation.

Colours of the blue-green spectrum and gemstones or crystals such as Topaz, Emerald, Lapiz, Aquamarine and Turquoise have been used for meditation to amplify the vibrations of Mercury and the Throat Chakra.


Venus: Once called the brightest ‘star’ in the sky, this planet has been a symbol of glamour, beauty, prosperity, radiance, love and fortune. Excesses of materialism and self-indulgence has to be curtailed however.

Goddesses such as Laxmi, Aphrodite, Ishtar and Gods such as Kama and Cupid have symbolised the qualities associated with this planet.

Shiny and pastel colours and stones such as Diamond, Jade, Rose quartz, Clear quartz and Rhodonite have conveyed the vibrations of Venus for healing and harmony and our Heart Chakra.


Mars: The red planet has been believed to signify war, effort, ambition, drive and passion since ages past. The positive qualities of victory and motivation can be inculcated while calming down aggression, strife and anger which are the negative aspects of this planet.

Gods such as Ares, Karthik, Tyr and Goddesses such as Bellona, Durga and Pele have signified Martian traits of strength and valour and our root chakra.

Shades of orange to red spectrum and stones such as Coral, Carnelian, Amber and Bloodstone have been used for meditation and energization as well as strengthening our Root Chakra.


Jupiter: The largest planet in the solar system has been a symbol of expansion, wisdom, greatness, generosity and divine power making it a fortunate and lucky omen. At the same time a balanced rationality and intuition are needed to keep one practical and grounded.

Gods such as Thor, Zeus, Dyaus, Yeshu and Goddesses such as Juno, Sophia and Parvati are connected to the concept of wisdom and exalted virtues that Jupiter represent.

Colours of purple and violet as well as gems such as amethyst, lepidolite and iolite represent the positive qualities of Jupiter as well as our Crown Chakra.


Saturn: The planet with great rings around is symbolic of practicality, reasonable boundaries, righteousness, fair rules, justice, stability,  protection and focus. Refrain from feeling like a victim or fearing this planet out of a belief in external rules and confinement by realizing that we create our own limitations instead of any devil or ‘Satan’ figure that Saturn has been wrongly convoluted into.

Gods such as Cronus, Hades, Set and Goddesses such as Kali, Ceridwen and Caillech are symbolic of endings, banishing, maturity and closure that are much needed at certain times in our life.

Colours from Gray to Black spectrum and gemstones or crystals such as Blue Sapphire, Sodalite, Kyanite, Black Tourmaline, Obsidian and Shungite can help prevent draining of energy and keep us focused and shielded through our Third Eye Chakra.


Finally while on Earth, no matter what our planets reveal in the form of horoscopes or guidance, we can always remember that our practical and day to day efforts as well as free-will choices are constantly there to help us create our own fate through our consciousness and determination, regardless of so-called planetary ‘influences’.

Each and everything that is manifest in our world has been placed around as and we amidst them because of some choices we have made either consciously or subconsciously. We have a reasonable degree of control over immediate objects around us and if we wish we can even change our place of residence to suit our aspirations, thereby transforming our situations to a great degree.

Planets seemed in the past to be revolving around us in fixed patterns that we seemed to have little control over, and hence were highly regarded as divine symbols that ‘control’ our destinies. Now we can imagine relocating to a new planet in the future as we progress technologically. Moreover our consciousness when awakened transcends space and time and help us travel astrally to any realm or dimension as liberated souls. The only creator of our destiny is always within us ultimately.

2 thoughts on “The Inner Meanings of Planets in Astrology

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

A Website.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: